My Adventures in Substituting Teaching – a J.P True Story

                 So for the past few weeks, I’ve been a substitute teacher for Gwinnett County Public Schools. Just a little part time work on my days off from Primerica, and so far it’s been really fun.  I have done it 4 times so far in 4 different schools.  

The first time was in a high school, a special needs classroom.  And even though it was high school, I had the same 8 students all day. In that classroom there was also a paraprofessional in the classroom to work with the kids, so I did not have to do it myself.  Whew! They were a handful but with 2 people it really wasn’t that hard.   

The next time was a 4th grade class and I was alone teaching.  That was different in itself because even though it was elementary, the class across the hall changed classrooms with mine!  Just when I was getting comfortable, I had a whole new bunch to get used to.  And then I had to take both classes to lunch, sit at the middle table in the cafeteria and monitor both classrooms.  Just before they swapped classes back and hour or so later, one of the girls handed me a note that read: “Dear Mr. Nick, My name is Adrianna.  I’m a cheerleader and a Girl Scout.  I love to read although I do not like to read for test or activities.  I love sports.  I think you’re nice.”  I told Nancy that I may have to frame that.   

 My 3rd time substituting, I wasn’t as early as I like to be when I go to a new place, and when I got to the 2nd floor of the school, looking for my classroom, I called Nancy.  “I’m here,” I said.  “And I think I am teaching the lower grades today.”

 “Why do you say that?” she asked.

 “I just saw a small person go in to one of the rooms on the floor my class is on.”

 “A small person?” she asked.  “You mean a child?”

 “Ok a child,” I agreed, and then I saw it.  Above the door hung a sign that read the teacher’s name “R. Marder.” Below that another cardboard sign that read “1st Grade”.

 I had no assistance all day with the 1st graders except, and it took a while for them to warm up to me.  As they entered the room, I would greet them with a handshake and say, “I’m Mr. Nix.  Ms. Marder is not here today.”  There were 22 of them and I think I did the best I could.  They would get a little loud in which I would have to get stern to maintain a semi quiet room.  One of the students who was Asian was extremely quiet during the whole day, I looked at her and said, “You talk too much.” She got the biggest grin on her face and said, “I like you.  You’re nice.”

 The next time was with another 4th grade class which I had a student teacher there and mainly I just assisted her.  They weren’t as fun as the 1st grade class or the previous 4th grade class, but I still enjoyed the day.

           

 The End

 

 

Categories Uncategorized

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close